by sharon



39th Coillte 10k Road Race Dundrum Wednesday 3rd July

Coillte 10k 2024 39th Annual Main Flyer

Wednesday the 3rd of July at 8pm the Coillte 10k Road Race in Dundrum Co Tipperary will be run for the 39th consecutive year by the local Dundrum Club. The race which started out as part of a local long weekend festival which were so popular back in the eighties is still going strong 39 years later.

This year’s official race starter is Liam O’Dwyer. The Rossmore man has been involved with the club since 1965 both as an athlete and volunteer. Liam excelled in all the throwing events, winning many County, Munster, and National medals over the years.

The club is delighted to have Coillte once again as our main sponsor. Dundrum is surrounded by trees and forest trails for running and walking developed by Coillte over the years. It is appropriate that Coillte are involved with us in the healthy sport of running. The Company’s managed forest trails around Dundrum and indeed around the Country are a haven for people to get out for a bit of fresh air and exercise never more appreciated than during the recent Covid lockdown. The semi-state company has been involved in this race every year since it was set up in 1988, which is appreciated by the Dundrum club.

The race which also incorporates a 5K for juniors (age between 13 years old on day of race and 19 years or under on 31/12/2024) is based around the Dundrum Community Hall Centre Complex in the village where the club has its athletics facilities. The race has prizes in every category from Senior to over 70 years for both men and women. With the Master categories at the standard five-year intervals from Over 40 years plus. There will be the usual specially Embroidered Souvenir Hand Towel for all online entrants. For Tipperary athletes there is the added incentive of Tim Crowe Memorial trophy (kindly donated by Dominic Moore) for the first Tipperary athlete to finish the 10k.The present holder is Kevin Moore Dundrum who won the overall race for the third time last year and Tim Crowe for the fourth time.

This year the club has once again linked up with Niall O’Sullivan’s Premier Timing Systems for entries and result data to manage the ever-increasing numbers of runners every year. Entries are online via the link The club would appreciate it if participants could enter at least a week or two before the race date. Early entry gives the organizers an idea of the number of embroidered dated towels required, plus the food requirements for the big spread afterwards. Also, it is a big help to Niall for him to get working on his system early.

The layout of the two-lap course makes it ideal for spectators to see the race and encourage the athletes as the race progresses. One section of the course in the village allows viewing of the race at four different stages by moving about one hundred meters.

For an excellent guided tour of the course road by road Google the Running in Munster Ireland Website.

Michael Hassett St Catherines has the best number of men’s victories with six wins. While in the women’s race Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane is in a class of her own with twelve wins.

The following are all the winners since the event first ran in 1986.

1986 John O’Halloran Tipp Town, Kathleen Maher Ballytrasna

1987 John Fitzgerald Clonmel, Mary Lonergan Reenavana,

1988 Toddy Finn Raheny Shamrocks, Kay O’Sullivan Upperchurch,

1989 Bernard Feery Clonmel, Martina Dorney Thurles Crokes,

1990 Robert Costello Limerick, Kay O’Sullivan Upperchurch,

1991 Michael Hassett Thurles Crokes, Mary Sheehan East Cork,

1992 Robert Costello Limer­ick, Mary Sheehan East Cork,

1993 Michael Hassett St. Catherines, Mary Sheehan East Cork,

1994 Michael Hassett St. Catherines, Gaile Culleton Thurles Crokes,

1995 Michael Hassett St. Catherines, Marcella Moloney Tullamore Harriers,

1996 Michael Has­sett St. Catherines, Siobhan McCormack Emerald A.C.,

1997 Daniel Gidumbanda Tanzania, Mary Shee­han Grange Fermoy,

1998 Michae1 Hassett St. Catherines, Mary Sheehan East Cork,

1999 Colm Burke St. Abbans, Mary Sheehan Grange Fer­moy,

2000 William Harty K.C.K., Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,

2001 Robert Wade Waterford A.C., Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,

2002 Pat Byrne Tinryland, Mary Sheehan Grange Fermoy,

2003 Tom Carey Limerick A.C., Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,

2004 Mick Kelly Gowran A.C., Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane,

2005 Sandis Bralitis Ballynonty A.C., Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane,

2006 Tom Carey Limerick A.C., Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,

2007 Dermot Kearns West Limerick, Madeline Dorney Thurles Crokes,

2008 Jason Fahey Olympic Harriers, Rosemary Ryan Bilboa,

2009 Tommy Evans Gowran, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.

2010 Seamus Power Kilmurray Ibrickane, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.

2011 Kenneth Rogers St John’s, Rosemary Ryan Bilboa.

2012 Michael Shannon Kilnaboy, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.

2013 Christopher Bracken Thurles Crokes, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.

2014 Kevin Moore Dundrum, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.

2015 Stephen Hunter St Michael’s, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.

2016 Declan Moore Bilboa, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane.

2017 David Mansfield Clonliffe Harriers, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane

2018 Freddy Keron Sittuk Kenya, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane

2019 David Mansfield Clonmel, Siobhan O’Doherty Borrisokane

2020 Virtual Kevin Moore Dundrum, Dymphna Ryan Dundrum

2021 Sergiu Ciobanu Clonliffe Harriers, Lizzie Lee Leevale

2022 Michael Harty East Cork, Sinead O’Connor Leevale

2023 Kevin Moore Dundrum, Mary Mulhare Portlaoise.